£ $
spacer1homespacer2record collector gradingspacer3customer satisfactionspacer4record cleaningspacer5postage infospacer6packagingspacer7returnsspacer8terms and conditions

Vinyl Music Madness

Rare records and vinyl: Rock, Punk, Indie, Beatles, Reggae, Ska, Rap, Heavy Metal, Soundtracks, 1960s music, Blues, Jazz, Dance, Funk, Soul, Country, Pop, Folk, Disco, 1950s music, Rock'n'Roll, World Music, Electronica, Memorabilia and new and sealed vinyl.

artists include graphic

Pink Floyd, Sex Pistols, The Beatles, King Crimson, Rolling Stones, Buzzcocks, The Smiths, Jimi Hendrix, Kasabian, The Beastie Boys, AC/DC, The Damned, The Mahavishnu Orchestra, Cocteau Twins, Oasis

Product Code: ORB006
Availability: In Stock
Price: £3.99
Ex Tax: £3.99
Qty:  Add to Cart

Ofra Haza - Yemenite Songs
(Globe Style Records  1985  ORB006)
Matrix No's: A2/B2 - UK Pressing

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
- some creasing in bottom right corner


Ofra Haza (Hebrew: עפרה חזה‎; November 19, 1957 – February 23, 2000) was an Israeli singer, actress and international recording artist. Her voice has been described as a "tender" mezzo-soprano.

Inspired by a love of her Yemenite Jewish and Hebrew culture, her music quickly spread to a wider Middle Eastern audience, somehow bridging the divide between Israel and the Arab countries. As her career progressed, Haza was able to switch between traditional and more commercial singing styles without jeopardizing her credibility. Her music fused elements of Eastern and Western instrumentation, orchestration and dance-beat. She became successful in Europe and the Americas; during her singing career, she earned many platinum and gold discs.

Yemenite Songs a.k.a. Shirey Teyman (Hebrew: שירי תימן) is a 1987 album by Ofra Haza, in which the Israeli pop star returned to her roots interpreting traditional Yemeni Jewish songs with lyrics coming from the poetry of 16th century Rabbi Shalom Shabazi. The album was recorded with both traditional and modern musical instruments; wooden and metal percussion, Yemenite tin and tambala, strings, brass and woodwind as well as drum machines and synthesizers. The songs are sung in Hebrew with a Yemenite dialect and in Arabic.

The opening song "Im Nin' Alu"'s a cappella intro would eventually become the starting point of Haza's international career as it was sampled by a number of European and American rap and dance acts like Eric B. & Rakim on their "Paid In Full" and M|A|R|R|S on "Pump Up the Volume" which led to Haza releasing a dance remix of her own recording in 1988 (subtitled Played In Full) which became a pop chart hit in many parts of the world. Remixes of both "Im Nin' Alu" and "Galbi" were included on the first international album Shaday.

The Yemenite Songs album has also been released under the title Fifty Gates of Wisdom.

Track listing

Side A:

  1. "Im Nin 'Alu" (Shabazi) - 5:18
  2. "Yachilvi Veyachali" (Shabazi) - 3:27
  3. "A 'Salk" (Shabazi, Traditional) - 4:45
  4. "Tzur Mentati"/"Se'i Yona"/"Sapri Tama" (Ben-Amram, Shabazi, Traditional) - 5:44

Side B:

  1. "Galbi" (Amram, Shabazi) 4:14
  2. "Ode Le-Eli" (Shabazi, Traditional) - 3:31
  3. "Lefelach Harimon" (Shabazi, Traditional) 5:08
  4. "Ayelet Chen" (Shabazi) - 6:30


  • Ofra Haza - lead vocals
  • Benny Nagari Arranger, conductor, music producer
  • Lesli Lishinski - bassoon
  • Marvin Feinshmit - bassoon tracks A3, B1
  • Ilan School - clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Eli Magen - double bass
  • Iki Levy - drums, congas, metal and wooden percussion, timbales
  • Abigail Erenheim - flute, piccolo tracks A1, A2, A4, B2 to B4
  • Benny Nagari - flute, piccolo tracks A3, B1
  • Shlomo Shochat - french horn
  • Meril Grinberg - oboe, english horn
  • Herman Openstein - oboe, English horn tracks A3, B1
  • Chaim Gispan - percussion (Yemenite tin & tambala)
  • Avraham Rosenblatt - strings
  • Elchanan Bregman - strings
  • Israel Berkowitch - strings
  • Israela Wisser - strings
  • Rima Kaminkowski - strings
  • Yigal Tuneh - strings
  • Yitzchak Markowetzki - strings
  • Yuval Kaminkowski - strings


  • Bezalel Aloni - record producer
  • Benny Nagari - music producer/arranger
  • Yoav Gera - Audio recording and mixing
  • Recorded at Triton Studios, Tel Aviv between August and September 1984.
  • Aharon Amram - artistic advisor

Vinyl Music Madness 2012 • Vinyl Music Madness Ltd. 6 Canbury Park Road, Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey, KT2 6JX. United Kingdom • Tel +44 (0) 20 8546 3126 • Web design by NAD