• Tangerine Dream - Rubycon
    (Virgin Records  1975  V2025)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - some wear to edges/corners

    Vinyl in Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

    Tangerine Dream is a German electronic music group founded in 1967 by Edgar Froese. The band has undergone many personnel changes over the years, with Froese being the only continuous member. Drummer and composer Klaus Schulze was briefly a member of an early lineup, but the most stable version of the group, during their influential mid-1970s period, was as a keyboard trio with Froese, Christopher Franke, and Peter Baumann. Early in the 1980s, Johannes Schmoelling replaced Baumann, and this lineup, too, was stable and extremely productive.

    Tangerine Dream's early "Pink Years" albums had a pivotal role in the development of Krautrock. Their "Virgin Years" and later albums became a defining influence in the genre known as New Age music, although the band themselves disliked the term.

    Although the group has released numerous studio and live recordings, a substantial number of their fans were introduced to Tangerine Dream by their film soundtracks, which total over sixty and include Sorcerer, Thief, The Keep, Risky Business, Firestarter, Legend, Near Dark, Shy People, and Miracle Mile.

    Rubycon is an album released in 1975 by German electronic music group Tangerine Dream. It is widely regarded as one of their best albums. Rubycon further develops the Berlin School sequencer-based sound they ushered in with the title track from Phaedra.

    Although not quite matching the sales figures for Phaedra, Rubycon reached No.12, in a 14-week run, their highest-charting album in the UK.

    Track listing

    • "Rubycon, Part One" – 17:18
      • Composed and played by:
        • Edgar Froese: mellotron/guitar & VCS 3 synthesizer
        • Christopher Franke: double Moog synthesizer/Synthi A/organ/modified Elka organ and prepared piano
        • Peter Baumann: organ/Synthi A/electric piano (Fender Rhodes) and prepared piano
    • "Rubycon, Part Two" – 17:35
      • Composed and played by:
        • Christopher Franke: double Moog synthesizer, gong/Synthi A/organ
        • Edgar Froese: organ/mellotron/guitar/Gong/VCS 3 Synthi
        • Peter Baumann: electric piano (|Fender Rhodes)/organ/Synthi A voice/ARP 2600


    • Edgar Froese
    • Peter Baumann
    • Christopher Franke

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: V2025
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £6.99

    • Ex Tax: £6.99